Tuesday Mumbles “THE SKY IS FALLING!”

Star Wars CHicken

Ever since this time last year I have noticed something about the Star Wars Community and that is all the pessimistic, acting like the sky is falling behavior. Now if anyone is not aware, Disney bought Star Wars and new things under the Disney banner are currently in the works such as a new Trilogy, some stand alone films and of course a new animated series called Star Wars Rebels (set 8 years after Revenge of the Sith). Now ever since Star Wars fans have become very judgmental and they have every right to be but in my opinion people are acting a little bit too judgmental. I mean so far we really don’t know that much about the new films or that much about the animated series. We just know little tidbits here and there. But there’s one remark I keep hearing a lot and that is “Disney’s going to destroy Star Wars!”. Now sure Star Wars might not be the same after all this new stuff starts coming out but I don’t think Disney is out to destroy the franchise. People who are saying that are just looking for excuses to bitch, moan and complain about something. It’s kind of like what my dad’s been telling me lately. The internet seems to be a breeding ground for complainers and you know what, I tend to agree with him on that one. Not just because he’s my dad but because I am seeing that first hand and as someone who like both Star Wars and Disney it kind of pisses me off. Ever since I was a little girl Disney has always been there for me, be it the parks, merchandise, the movies and the TV shows. To my little child eyes Disney was a magical experience and it still is to this day. I mean whenever I go to Disneyland I always have a good time and I’m always sad when I have to leave because there’s just this feeling you get while you are in the parks and you can’t help but be happy and even for adults it makes them feel like kids again. Now yesterday there was a teaser trailer for Star Wars Rebels on Disney XD and frankly it has left a lot of Star Wars fans angry. Responses were as such

“They cancelled The Clone Wars for this?”
“Disney ruins everything!”
“This is going to be like what happen with Ultimate Spiderman!”

Again, lately the Star Wars fanbase, at least the part of the community that I am exposed to are acting like the sky is falling and there is a general aura of dread in the air. But what do I have to say about everything? Well, it’s quite simple. I am withholding the majority of my judgment until we are actually seeing even more of this new stuff before I make my official opinion because as of right now, I don’t feel like I have enough to base an opinion around. But do I think that Disney is going to kill Star Wars? HECK NO! That’s just paranoid talk! It is my personal opinion that Disney has enough respect for the franchise/fans to deliver to us, the fans a quality product. Right now, we are just going through an awkward period right now. So I’d advise for everyone to just take a step back, take a deep breath and calm the heck down. Everything is going to be fine! Now if that bit of advice makes me a bad person then well, that’s your opinion. At least I’m not running around like a chicken with it’s head cut off or as I’ve said before in the article the sky is falling. But believe me, I am a Star Wars fan and always will be but I just can’t bring myself to become someone who will constantly complain and bash things because that’s just not who I am. So, I’m going to just end this article right here before I dig myself an even bigger hole and everyone comes to my door with torches/pitchforks claiming that I’m an unholy demon who doesn’t care for Star Wars. Just relax people, go take a nature walk, read a book or do something that doesn’t involve Star Wars. So this has been JessicaBane501 and I’m going to go seek shelter in my rage proof bunker now. Peace.

~ by banessidekick on October 8, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
